Databases

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the US National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. This extensive database provides worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. The literature cited is primarily in English, but more than a third of the database comprises citations in Western European, Slavic, Asian and African languages. Production began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century.

Note: This version of AGRICOLA retired on 1 Jan 2023 and no content is being added at this time. AGRICOLA, PubAg and NALDC have now been brought together in one place introducing SEARCH from the USDA National Agricultural Library.

AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public domain database with more than 4 million structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. The database is maintained by FAO, and its content is provided by more than 150 participating institutions.

AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, aquatic sciences, and fisheries. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.

The database is freely available on the website of the FAO.

The arXiv is an archive and distribution server for e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. It includes more than 2 million e-prints, with roughly 5,000 new e-prints added every month. In many fields of mathematics and physics, almost all scientific papers are placed on the arXiv. A majority of the manuscripts are also submitted to journals for publication, but some work, including some very influential papers, remain purely as e-prints and are never published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Note that users can register to automatically receive a listing of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them

The ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database contains more than 40,300 binary and ternary phase diagrams, each with their associated crystal and reaction data. Users can search for phase diagrams either via the database content tree, the element search or the search slot.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry standards and technical engineering information. The database covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Users can access ASTM's 12,000+ active standards (plus 12,300 redlined standards and 28,500 historical, and withdrawn standards). The Digital Library also includes nearly every other ASTM publication – that’s 1,500+ books and 60,000+ papers and chapters, dating back to 1932.

Bibliographic references of ASTM standards with links to the full text are also included in the Lib4RI Standards Portal.

Downloads are only available via https://compass.astm.org within the network of Eawag, Empa, PSI & WSL. Avoid using other links, including ASTM Home and links from the ASTM home page. These will land the user on «for purchase» search results.

BASE is a multi-disciplinary search engine for academic citations, mostly with linked open-access full-text. It covers more than 310 million documents from more than 10,700 contributing sources. BASE searches open-archive collections worldwide and, additionally, indexes selected web sites and local data collections, all of which can be searched via a single search interface.

BIOSIS Previews is a bibliographic database for literature searching in biological and biomedical sciences. It indexes about 5,500 life sciences journals, of which about 2,300 are indexed cover to cover. Additionally, 1,500 conference proceedings, review articles, books and U.S. Patents are included. BIOSIS covers medical topics, but tends to focus more on basic research, and its coverage of clinical medicine is not as in depth as in PubMed. BIOSIS is a good resource for finding document types that are not indexed in PubMed, including abstracts of papers presented at meetings, United States patents, books and book chapters. The thorough indexing of major concepts, organisms, taxonomic groups, diseases, genes and geographic locations makes it easy to narrow your search.

Note that BIOSIS can be searched from within Web of Science.

Britannica Image Quest is an online image library with more than 2.5 million high resolution images from the world’s best image providers, including National Geographic Society, Getty Images and Press Association Images. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. The images can also be used on websites if the Thistle watermark is not removed and the copyright notice as provided on IQ is given.
The portal is an add-on to the popular Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.

Learn more about this new resource in the guided tour.

The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) and FIZ Karlsruhe offer the free service Access Structures via their WebCSD portal to view and retrieve structures from their crystallographic databases CSD (organic compounds) and ICSD (inorganic compounds). Through Access Structures you can view the data sets in both 2D and 3D, see some basic information about the structures and download individual deposited data-sets.

This free service has its limitations regarding search capabilities offered. Please refer to more detailed information on WebCSD and the free Access Structures service.

For Advanced searches of inorganic structures (ICSD) please use this interface.

The Central Discovery Index (CDI) is a multidisciplinary index of scholarly materials. Recorded are electronic books, journal articles and more; depending on the source metadata or full text indexed. The CDI is offered by Ex Libris (via swisscovery) who receive the data from primary and secondary publishers, aggregators and open access collections. In swisscovery, the «Central Discovery Index (CDI)» is used when the search query is performed via the search scope Central Discovery Index (CDI) and additionally also a part of the full search scope swissvovery.

ChemSpider is a free chemical database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures. The database is owned and supported by the Royal Society of Chemistry. It aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses, and other information from hundreds of data sources into a single searchable repository with links back to the original data sources. ChemSpider is not just a search engine; it is also a crowdsourcing community for chemists who contribute their data, skills, and knowledge to the curation of the database.

ChemSpider SyntheticPages extends this model of a community curated database to cover reactions, providing quick publication (including the assignment of a DOI), peer review and semantic enhancement of repeatable reactions.

Getting Started with ChemSpider
Introductory Video to ChemSpider

The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews summarising current medical research. It is considered as a reliable source for evidence based medicine. Review summaries in German are also available.

CORE aggregates open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and makes them available to the public.

Established in 2000 by scholarly publishers as an independent, non-profit entity, CrossRef enables researchers to navigate electronic journals, books and other documents across publishers, based on the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

CrossRef metadata search is particularly helpful to quickly resolve a given DOI and find the corresponding document (eg search for 10.1038/nature09211), and also to find the very DOI associated with a given document (eg search for Cai bottom-up fabrication of graphene).

Please see CrossRef's Help & Example Queries for additional search options.

Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from leading scholarly journals and books (1998-present); also includes relevant, evaluated websites and documents.

Access pre-published electronic journal articles and search more than articles with cover-to-cover indexing from the subsequent disciplines:

• Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences
• Social & Behavioral Sciences
• Clinical Medicine
• Life Sciences
• Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences
• Engineering, Computing & Technology
• Arts & Humanities
• Business Collection
• Electronics & Telecommunications Collection

Note that Current Contents Connect is accessible via Web of Science.

The database hosted by the German Patent Office provides access to the full-text of all German patents from 1877 onwards. The website is available in English and German. DEPATISnet also covers other major and several minor patent offices, but not nearly as many countries as esp@cenet.
Note that you can download the full-text images as PDF files, but only page by page.

The Derwent Innovations Index searches more than 14 million patent records, many with links to the full-text. Patents are from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities including the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the European Patent Office and the Japanese Patent Office. Searches retrieve records from 1963 to the present, but coverage varies among patent authorities. Derwent divides patents into 3 broad areas: chemical, electrical & electronics, and engineering. Abstracts of patents are rewritten to make it more apparent whether or not a particular patent would be applicable to your work. In addition, the database contains citing and cited patents and literature references, allowing users to move both forward and backward in time.

Note that Derwent Innovations Index is accessible via Web of Science.

The dfv zentral archiv (in German only) of the dfv media group offers you access to facts and specialist knowledge to more than 800,000 articles from over 35 specialist publications.

The database provides bibliographic information (including abstracts) for 2.7 million dissertations and theses on sciences and engineering from 1861 to the present. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses mainly covers dissertations and theses from North American Institutions plus a growing international coverage. 1.2 million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.

The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

DORA is the institutional repository and bibliography of the four research institutes within the ETH Domain (Eawag, Empa, PSI, and WSL), hosted by Lib4RI. The repository is based on the open source software framework Islandora.

e-newspaperarchives.ch is the successor to «Swiss Press Online», which was created in 2011 by the Swiss National Library (NL) and the Valais Médiathèque, on the occasion of the launch of the digitized version of the Confédéré. All the newspapers previously held in Swiss Press Online can be found on e-newspaperarchives.ch.

Engineering Source offers more than 3,000 full text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas.

Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

The European Power Exchange, is the Exchange for short-term power trading in Europe. It enables electricity producers, utilities, trading companies and industrial consumers to trade power for today or the following day, balancing their supply and demand.

The subscription provides access to Day-Ahead and Intraday Auctions results including prices, volumes, aggregated curves and block bids results. The data are available at the end of the trading session. Historical Day-Ahead and Intraday Auctions are also available.

Please contact @email for access details.

Esp@cenet is the patent database of the European Patent Office. The database contains more than 65 million patent documents from 90 countries (mainly applications rather than granted patents). Coverage is extensive. For example, Swiss patents in facsimile go back to 1888, starting with patent CH1.

The Forest Science Database database supplies bibliographic information and abstracts for all aspects of agroforestry, forestry, tree biology, land use and wood science. Climate change effects, deforestation, forest logging and urban forestry are also covered key areas.

Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.

Searching books with Google Books is analogous to searching websites with «Google Web Search». If a publisher or author has given the permission, a full page is shown allowing to browse within the book and to see more pages. If the book is out of copyright, it is possible to page forward or back to see the full book. Clicking on Search within this book allows you to perform more searches within the selected book.

Note: For an export of the bibliographic details related to a specific book, you need to click on «About this book» and scroll all the way down to «Export Citation».

Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.

Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to enable specific searches for scholarly materials such as articles, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts and technical reports from broad subject areas. Google Scholar includes full-text search and citation counts. It is useful for broad background searches of scholarly literature and for searching across many disciplines. Google Scholar’s coverage and indexing is a secret. Some publishers do not allow Scholar to crawl their journals. Google Scholar uses crawler and parser programs to collect metadata on publications instead of the metadata provided by publishers and indexing/abstracting services. This results in millions of records with erroneous metadata as well as inflated publication and citation counts. Therefore, citation analysis is unreliable and you should consult Scopus or the Web of Science for this task instead.

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

The ICONDA®CIBlibrary database covers worldwide literature in the fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture, city planning and property. ICONDA®CIBlibrary is a joint initiative by the International Council for Research and Innovation on Building and Construction (CIB) and Fraunhofer Information Center for Planning and Building IRB. It is the online repository for CIB and CIB related publications.

The ICSD contains inorganic crystal structures published since 1913, including their atomic coordinates. In particular, the database provides information on structural data of pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds; structural descriptors (Pearson symbol, ANX formula, Wyckoff sequences); bibliographic data; and synthesis conditions.
The content of ICSD goes through an ongoing re-evaluation and update procedure. Each year around 7,000 new structures are added while the existing content will be modified, complemented or duplicates are removed.

Detailed information on the ICSD may be found in the scientific manual.

The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Lib4RI provides access to many IEEE journals, magazines and transactions, IET journals and magazines, proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences, IEEE standards, and the backfiles for all titles.

InCites is a tool for citation-based research evaluation; besides the actual number of cites it includes the number of expected citations at the level of subject area and journal title in a particular year. To use this database you will need to log in using an existing Web of Science account or register for a new account.

Essential Science Indicators ranks the top authors, institutions, countries and journals across 22 broad disciplines using citation data.

The INIS (International Nuclear Information System) database is the leading resource for scientific literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, and also includes the environmental and economic aspects of both nuclear and non-nuclear energy sources. The database contains over 3 million bibliographic records (journal articles, scientific and technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents) from the 1970s through to the present. Full-text is provided for more than 250,000 documents of the grey literature (scientific and technical reports).

CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.

More information and an overview on the INSPIRE project can be found here.

IPscreener is a tool designed to assist researchers explore the intellectual property landscape and discover the knowledge of hidden patents.

IPscreener uses artificial intelligence to provide access to a vast array of patent and trademark information, enabling researchers to validate innovation ideas, while avoiding spending resources reinventing existing technology. By providing comprehensive insights into the world of intellectual property, IPscreener can streamline the innovation process and help users keep up with the latest global industry trends. Please refer to the documentation for more details.

To obtain an account, please contact us at eresources@lib4ri.ch. 

The Joint Accelerator Conferences Website (JACoW) is an international collaboration that publishes proceedings of accelerator conferences held around the world. All conferences agree to the policies and requirements for publication.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) comprises Journal Impact Factors and other journal metrics for more than 11,000 journals. This version of the JCR lets you conduct analysis and comparisons of citation relationships across journals and categories over time.

This database is included in Springer Materials

The database LexisNexis Academic has become Nexus Uni.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

LIVIVO is an interdisciplinary search engine for life sciences provided by ZB MED Leibniz Information Centre for Life Sciences.

Scientifically relevant information from the ZB MED subjects fields medicine, health, nutrition, environmental and agricultural sciences is bundled and provided on a standard interface for free research.

Please follow the tab «More Links» below a specific search result to obtain links to the full texts.

More information and help are available here.

MassBank is a mass spectral database of experimentally acquired high resolution MS spectra of metabolites. It offers various query methods for standard spectra. The database has very detailed MS data and excellent spectral/structure searching utilities.

MassBank Documentation

Material Archiv is a network of various sample collections taken from architecture, art and design. This joint online database provided by several Swiss institutions contains basic knowledge, examples and applications related to materials such as wood, paper, metal, plastic, stone, glass, ceramics and colorants (German only).

MatNavi is an integrated material database system comprising ten databases, four application systems and the NIMS Structural Datasheet Online. MatNavi Contains data on the material properties of polymers, ceramics, superconductors, composites and diffusion. The use of MatNavi is free. All you need to do is register.

MEDLINE is the US National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database.

Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles. Backfiles to 1950.

Note that MEDLINE can be searched from within Web of Science.

At its most basic level, Mendeley is a free reference management tool, but it can also help with other aspects of research. Another useful feature is the crowd-sourced database of more than 30 Mio papers. Not only can you search across disciplines, but you can also limit your results to only open access content. You can also find popular groups and tags related to a paper, which could reveal a whole collection of research already created around the topic you’re searching.

The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a bibliographic database operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.7 million records: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records (including abstracts). Older astronomy literature has been digitized, in many cases going back to the first issue of the journals, and is available in full-text versions. The physics literature goes back for varying periods depending on the collaborative partnerships.

ADS Labs showcases search tools with added functionality to the standard ADS services. Currently these are:

Streamlined Search is simple one-box search that allows for a combination of author, title, year, and keyword searches. Identifiers such as bibcodes, arXiv IDs and DOIs are recognized as well. Advanced search options allow users to specify the desired search criteria.

Alpha Fulltext Search is the experimental interface for searching the collection of electronic fulltext at ADS, the Digital Library for Physics and Astronomy. It allows searching the full text of the scanned literature in ADS as well as a select portion of the current astronomical literature, including ApJ, ApJS, AJ, A&A, MNRAS, PASP, the last 15 years of Icarus, and all of arXiv.org.

NDT.net is the publisher of the Open Access «Ejournal of Nondestructive Testing and Ultrasonics». They also provide e-proceedings for more than 100 international NDT conferences and NDT techniques. Everything is accessible via NDT.net's database search. In NDT.net's discussion forums you can interact with other colleagues.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 15,000 print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on international companies and executives. The information provided is international, English language titles are dominant, but you will also find Swiss, German and French titles. The full texts provided do not include pictures and graphs; the database is intended for text analysis.

Searching Nexis Uni needs some familiarization if you are not used to work with full text searches. Thus, we highly recommend to watch a video tutorial before you start searching.

The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases (list of free databases). These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.

Quick List (selected):

• Atomic Spectra Database
• CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants
• NIST Chemistry WebBook
• Physical Reference Data

Nucleonica allows user-friendly access to the latest reference data from internationally evaluated nuclear data. A unique feature is the wide range of web-based nuclear science applications. Also provided is a variety of social networking tools for scientific collaboration.

Access to Nucleonica is based on individual usernames and passwords. Accounts for full premium access can be created individually. Users have then their «own» files within Nucleonica i.e. their own personal desktop, nuclide mixtures, graphics files, application configurations files etc.

Starting 2014, Nucleonica will be expanded by the Karlsruhe Nuclide Chart Online (KNCO) giving you latest experimental data for ground states and isomers, including decay schemes for selected nuclides. Existing users of Nucleonica are automatically upgraded to KNCO. New users should register for free access. Your accounts will then be upgraded such that you have premium access and additionally KNCO access.

OAIster aggregates records from open-archive collections worldwide (citations with linked full-text). It includes about 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributing collections. The records available via OAIster lead to a wide range of materials and include theses, research papers, digitized books, journal articles, newspapers and manuscripts. You can search by title, author/creator, subject, language or the entire record.

OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 – over 1,200 journal issues, 3,300 working papers, 2,900 multi-lingual summaries, 7,700 e-book titles, 16,000 tables and graphs, 25,000 chapters and articles, and 480 complete databases with more than 4.5 billion data points.
Statistical data can be downloaded in various formats, e.g. as .xls, .csv, or .ivt files. The search interface is available in several languages.

Getting Started Quick Guide [PDF]
Video: Introduction to OECD iLibrary

The Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is the Department of Energy (DOE) office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored research and development (R&D) results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions. The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, multimedia, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information (STI).

A key resource for DOE program managers, contracting officers, and others involved in R&D-related work is SciTech Connect, which provides access to over 2.5 million research citations from 1943 forward, with full text of DOE STI available comprehensively since 1990 and selectively for earlier years. Other collections developed and maintained by OSTI include: DOE-affiliated scholarly articles in DOE PAGES, DOE scientific research data and non-text information in DOE Data Explorer, multimedia videos highlighting DOE’s scientific research in ScienceCinema, patents resulting from DOE-funded work in the DOepatents database and remarkable advances in science at DOE R&D Accomplishments.

Oxford Bibliographies provides acceess to articles from the subject Ecology.

Guided Tour
Help

The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions.

Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access.

Perinorm is integrated in Lib4RI's Standards Portal. Perinorm is a bibliographic database with information on the most important national, European and international standards and technical rules – currently over 1.5 million data sets [ list of included standards ]. The database is updated monthly.

For more information on standards available at Lib4RI please see www.lib4ri.ch > Resources > Standards.

The Pesticide Properties Database (PPDB) is a comprehensive relational database of pesticide physicochemical, toxicological, ecotoxicological and other related data. The database holds data for around 1,100 pesticides, 500 metabolites and 100 other related substances. It includes physicochemical (environmental fate), ecotoxicological and human health data, as well as information on approval status, EC Directive 91/414 status, chemical structure, classification, resistance properties, and branding/formulation information.

The data sources within the PPDB are referenced, and AERU have utilised a unique scoring system to express data confidence. Each item is given a score between 1 for low confidence (e.g. un-referenced figures) and 5 for high confidence (e.g. from EU product registration documentation). This ensures that users are fully aware of any limitations in the data, and can use it accordingly.

Supporting information including Questions and answers and instructions for use are available.

The Pharmacopoeia in Switzerland consists of the European Pharmacopoeia (Pharmacopoea Europaea, Ph.Eur.) and the Swiss Pharmacopoeia (Pharmacopoea Helvetica, Ph.Helv.). It contains quality regulations for common and known medicinal products and pharmaceutical excipients as well as for individual medical devices. The contained regulations are binding and have legal character.

Please note that online access to this database requires free registration.

PressReader provides access to more than 7’000 of the world's top newspapers and magazines from 120 countries in 60 languages as soon as they are available on shelves. If you would like to read a paper or magazine in another language, simply use the translate option. Please note that back issues are only available for up to 90 days.

All PressReader content is available at pressreader.com or in the PressReader app for Android or Apple devices. To access PressReader on-site, go to pressreader.com or browse the publications in the catalogue. To access PressReader from home, register using your email with [at]eawag.ch, [at]empa.ch, [at]psi.ch or [at]wsl.ch. Once logged in, you can personalise your account by setting your favourite publications and topics to create a personalised news feed as well as save and share articles. Before registering, please consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Note
In some cases, you may have to link your account to the library after registering in order to get full access. In these cases, please follow the instructions to link your account to Lib4RI.

The database provides bibliographic information (including abstracts) for 2.7 million dissertations and theses on science and engineering from 1861 to the present. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses mainly covers dissertations and theses from North American Institutions plus a growing international coverage. 1.2 million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

PubMed is a bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, molecular biology and other life sciences. The database covers articles from more than 5,000 journals and has over 20 million citations going back to 1966. Many PubMed citations contain links to full text articles which are freely available, either from the publisher or as part of NCBI's PubMed Central collection. It also provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. These databases contain DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets and complete genomes.

The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) is a database of bibliographic data in combination with citation data. The citation analysis of more than 9000 mainly English-language journals from the fields of medicine, technology and science is the data source for the SCIE. The citation data in this database is the basis for the Journal Citation Reports (the Science Edition) and the calculation of journal impact factors.

The SCIE is part of the Web of Science Core Collection, together with the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Social Science & Humanities, but also the Book Citation Index – Science, the Book Citation Index – Social Sciences & Humanities, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. The list of included journals changes from year to year and the inclusion or exclusion of a journal is controlled by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Reuters). Clarivate Analytics announces criteria used in the evaluation of journals but this process is not entirely transparent.

The CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform features SciFinder-n to access the content collection of the chemical abstract service (CAS), the integrated formulation database Formulus with curated information from patents and journals, and Analytical Methods for searching and comparing published scientific methods.

CAS SciFinder-n
A next generation scientific research solution providing access to a comprehensive collection of chemical reactions, substances, and scientific literature incl. patents curated by expert scientists. Special features allow users to search for information by drawing chemical structures or substructures, or by reaction, polymer and specific biosequence. Benefits to the (legacy) SciFinder classic include Boolean searching as well as reference and substance role filtering.

• Log in at scifinder-n.cas.org 
• Product help for CAS SciFinder-n 
• Trainings on CAS SciFinder-n 
• How to use CAS SciFinder-n 

CAS Formulus
A comprehensive formulations database supporting formulators in developing products.

• Log in at formulus.cas.org
• Trainings on CAS Formulus
• How to use CAS Formulus

CAS Analytical Methods
Analyses make it simple to locate, compare, and understand analytical methods from top journals and patents.

• Log in at methodsnow.cas.org
• Trainings on CAS Analytical Methods
• How to use CAS Analytical Methods

Access to the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform is provided through Single Sign-On. To log in, enter your email address followed by your SWITCHaai credentials. If you have any questions or need assistance, please reach out to @email.

Scopus is a large interdisciplinary bibliographic database. Scopus indexes more than 29,200 academic journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and book series. It also covers scientific web sources, including 39 mio patents from 5 patent offices (US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and UK Intellectual Property Office) and pre-print servers (e.g. ArXiv.org).

Scopus includes Scopus AI, a research assistant that generates topic summaries and expanded summaries, produces a concept map and lists topic experts with reference to publications held in Scopus (currently back to 2003).

Guides, factsheets & training material can be found in the Scopus LibGuide.

Note that Scopus links papers together based on the references cited within the papers. This feature of the database allows the analysis of citations. Through a cited reference search, you can discover how an idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows: an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) supports Swiss researchers on behalf of the federal government. On the Data Portal, it publishes data on the evaluated projects and the persons involved.

SNSF projects, involved people and resulting publications from Eawag, Empa, PSI and WSL.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN documented research from all areas of the social sciences. The publishing platform includes publications in scientific journals, but also numerous publications that have not yet been published (Working Papers). By creating an account, you can easily share and revise your research, view and download the latest research in your field and interact with thousands of scholars worldwide.

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a database of bibliographic data in combination with citation data. The citation analysis of more than 3,300 mainly English-language journals from the social sciences is the data source for the SSCI. The citation data in this database is the basis for the Journal Citation Reports (the Social Sciences Edition) and the calculation of journal impact factors. In combination with the Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index the SSCI constitutes the Web of Science Core Collection. In addition, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index became an edition of Web of Science Core Collection in 2008. The list of included journals changes from year to year and the inclusion or exclusion of a journal is controlled by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Reuters). Clarivate Analytics announces criteria used in the evaluation of journals but this process is not entirely transparent.

SpringerMaterials provides access to curated data about 3000+ physical and chemical properties of 250,000+ materials and chemical systems.

Data sources currently include the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and specialized databases on thermophysical properties, polymer thermodynamics, adsorption isotherms, and 32,000+ substance profiles.

STAT TAB is the statistics database for Switzerland maintained by the Swiss Federal Statistical Office (BFS). Data on the current situation and development of the society, the economy and the environment in Switzerland is presented. STAT TAB replaces Superweb, the former statistics database for Switzerland. Data is presented in multidimensional data sets (data cubes) with variables that can be interactively combined. The generated tables can be exported in various formats and re-used locally.

Swiss foreign trade statistics are available via the Swiss-Impex database: Swiss-Impex

Detailed data on several Swiss price indices are available as downloadable tables in .xls format in the Preis-Boutiquen. Click here to see the login and password required to access these files.

• LIK-Boutique (Landesindex der Konsumentenpreise)
• PPI-Boutique (Produzenten- und Importpreisindex)
• PPLH-Boutique (Produzentenpreise in der Land- und Holzwirtschaft)
• BAP-Boutique (Baupreise)

Swisscovery is the new nationwide library system operated by the Swiss Library Service Platform (SLSP) replacing the former NEBIS lending network. Lib4RI has joined the new SLSP network together with more than 470 other academic libraries from all over Switzerland.

Swisscovery includes more than 30 million media and 3 billion electronic articles. All Lib4RI print and electronic holdings previously in NEBIS are now accessible via swisscovery.

The online media archive Swissdox Essentials includes approximately 290 sources with articles from 1911 onwards and provides evidence of the history and wide range of the Swiss media landscape. A user-friendly interface and a high-performing search engine with various filter options can accommodate users to find daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and journals, press agencies, online media as well as newspapers that are no longer published.

The database is made available by the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property. It contains Swiss and European patents which are in force in Switzerland and Lichtenstein. This includes patents which are in force as well as patents which have been cancelled. Included are Swiss patents filed after January 1978 and European patents with effect in Switzerland after the number 00 000 001.

The Lens, the flagship project of the social enterprise Cambia, seeks to source, merge and link diverse open knowledge sets, including scholarly works and patents, to inform discovery, analysis, decision making and partnering on a human-centered user experience built on an open web platform, Lens.org, with toolkits designed to optimize institutional effectiveness in problem solving.

The Lens at its core is an aggregator of metadata, combining three unique content sets and one management tool as a base offering. This base supports the four primary functions of the Lens, which are to discover, analyse, manage and share knowledge:

• Scholarly Works: Discovery and analytics tools providing access to a global corpus of scholarly literature metadata with citation indexing.
• Patents: Discovery and analytics tools on a comprehensive collection of patent literature with citation indexing.
• PatSeq: A facility to search and analyse biological sequences disclosed in patent literature.
• Collections: A management tool to track, monitor, and analyse a collection of works or a collection of patents dynamically or statically.

Treesearch is a database of publications by scientists in the US Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by USDA scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. There are currently more 35,000 publications in Treesearch, all of which can be downloaded in PDF format, making it the largest freely available collection of online forestry research in the world.

Treesearch lets you search listings by author, keyword, originating station or date. Keyword searches examine both the title and abstract.

UNdata brings together official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.
For nice visualizations using UNdata as a source see Progress: A Graphical Report on the State of the World and Gapminder.

EOLSS comprises nearly 600 book volumes of thematically organised, peer- reviewed state-of-the-art content. EOLSS is one of the largest community oriented encyclopedia creation projects of the world, with contributions coming from several thousand renowned scholars from more than 100 countries.

The main topic of EOLSS is science of sustainable development. The 21 component encyclopedias cover topics such as «Development and economic sciences», «Desalination and water resources», «Land use, land cover and soil sciences» and «Water sciences, engineering and technology resources». Natural and social sciences, humanities, engineering and technology, and management policies for sustainable use of life support systems are emphasized, together with issues of global change and their ecological, economic, social, ethical, cultural, and political dimensions.

Access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.

Search everything for results from the catalogue and articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or choose to limit your search to:

• Articles, indexed journal article citations
• PubAg, USDA’s public access repository
• Digital Collections, full-text historical documents and images

Web of Science's search portal contains multiple databases. By default it searches in all of the following databases:
Web of Science Core Collection | BIOSIS Citation Index | BIOSIS Previews | Current Contents Connect | Data Citation Index | Derwent Innovation Index | KCI-Korean Journal Database | Medline | Russian Science Citation Index | SciELO | Zoological Record

Often you might just be interested in the Web of Science Core Collection comprising journals and conference proceedings indexed in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Social Science & Humanities, but also the Book Citation Index – Science, the Book Citation Index – Social Sciences & Humanities, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.

Note that the Web of Science Core Collection links documents based on the references cited within the papers. This feature of the database allows the analysis of citations. Through a cited reference search, you can discover how an idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended or corrected.

Web of Science offers Factsheets, Guides as well as recorded & live trainings.

The IRF World Road Statistics (WRS) includes up-to-date information for more than 205 countries on the road and transport sector. The data contained is grouped in nine sections: Country Profiles, Road Networks, Road Traffic, Multimodal Traffic Comparisons, Vehicles in Use, Road Accidents, Production/Imports/First Registrations and Export of Motor Vehicles, Road Expenditures & Revenues and Energy (Fuel Prices).

For electronic access to the most recent six years of IRF World Road Statistics data please contact @email.

Previous editions (on DVD) can be borrowed from the library via swisscovery. Please be aware of the usage restrictions (can be found on the DVDs).

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It includes the holdings for thousands of academic, public, special and national libraries worldwide.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

WorldWideScience.org was developed on behalf of the WorldWideScience Alliance, and is maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), an element of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy.